Franklin's third St Ayles Skiff, built at the Wooden Boat Centre in 2016 was launched yesterday. The community celebrated the launch as part of the Swiftsure Regatta activities. The vessel was named 'Freyja' to honour both her Scottish design heritage as well as being named after the Norse Goddess 'Freyja'. The boat will be used regularly for community rowing for fun and fitness as well as for competition rowing in the International St Ayles Skiff regatta circuit.
Students with instructor Greg Guy about to head out and practice their navigation skills. Students have been attending a 6 week night course, 2 days a week for the past 5 weeks.
The counter is a beamy clinker dinghy design, planked in King Billy Pine, with a Celery Top Pine laid deck for a counter top. The fore deck is Tas Oak and provides a space for the Biosecurity dogs to sleep in between flights. The counter will have a stainless steel plinth added to it to complete a counter to the correct work height for the Biosecurity staff when searching passengers bags on entry to Tasmania.
In April 5 students joined us to complete a Clinker Dinghy building course. Students came from varied backgrounds. Wayne from Northern NSW who reconnected with his earlier industrial arts teaching skills; Max who had recently finished high school in country Victoria; Jay a Canadian backpacker looking for cool experiences; Ellie a British backpacker looking to extend her cabinet making skills; and Ray a psychologist from Melbourne.
Together the group built two clinker dinghies a rowing and sailing version.
Leshelen was designed by R. H. Thompson and was built by the owner R. Torrents of Launceston. The 36ft motor launch built of Huon Pine and fitted with a B. M. C. 50HP diesel engine was launched in 1952.
After months of preparation by several Franklin businesses, this brand new experience is ready to tell you the story of the infamous Huon Pine, from river to rainforest.
The Wooden Boat Centre is a community facility and so what better place could there be to build a boat for a community?
For Ballarat carpenter Phil Meaney, the idea of building a rowboat was triggered four years ago when he visited the Wooden Boat Centre in Franklin
Andy Gamlin and Yvonne Buckley are happy to announce that they have sold the Wooden Boat Centre to the Franklin Working Waterfront Association.
This very distinctive 34ft motor cruiser was donated to us. We in turn offered it for $1 to any person able to see the beauty within, provided they commissioned us to return her to her former state.
Peggy is a variation of Francis Herreshoff's 'Prudence' design. Redrawn by local designer Adrian Dean, she is just over 22ft on a 8'6" beam.
Clara has now been fitted out with mast and spars and looking every inch the superb sailing vessel that graced the Derwent River at the close of the nineteenth century.
This boat is a real eye-catcher. It is a copy of a 1950’s Barrel back sports boat, so called due to its iconic semi-circular transom shape.
Many of our visitors have been following the progress of the restoration work on the beautiful Huon Pine river cruiser Georgina.
Pipedream is an imaginative product of re-cycling at its best – created from a pile of King Billy Pine salvaged from a condemned West Coast pipeline.
“Montagu Whalers” were part of the standard equipment of all larger Royal Navy, and Royal Australian Navy vessels from the 1890’s to the 1960’s.
Zuline is a Llyle Hess design of 32′. Built of Huon Pine by students of this school and launched in 2004.